PCCN study materials — ranked and compared

The best PCCN review courses and study materials for the current test plan

Six PCCN prep options — including AACN's own review course and question bank — compared on Feb 6, 2024 test-plan alignment, practice quality, learning support, total cost, and accessibility. Prices and features checked directly from vendor pages on October 1, 2026.

  • Updated October 1, 2026
  • 6 options compared
  • No affiliate links

Published by PrepSolution, an exam-preparation provider. This comparison uses published provider information. We have not tested these courses hands-on or measured their learning outcomes. Check each provider’s current inclusions and terms before buying.

As of October 1, 2026, the strongest PCCN prep choices come from AACN itself: the TestRun Premium practice bank gives you 550+ current-plan questions with rationales, and the PCCN Certification Review Course Online is the exam maker's own content review. Third-party options such as Nicole Kupchik, Nurse Builders, Mometrix, and Pocket Prep fill different niches, but several still display the old 125-question / 2.5-hour format on their public pages — a red flag we factored into version-alignment scores. Every price, question count, and guarantee term below comes from the vendor's own public pages checked on October 1, 2026; this comparison is not based on hands-on testing.

  1. 01
    AACN TestRun PremiumBest official practice bank$75 member / $90 nonmember (180 days)

    AACN's own 550+ question premium bank with correct-answer rationales, timed/untimed exams, and content-area quizzes aligned to the current test plan.

  2. 02
    Nicole KupchikBest on-demand review course$199 one-time (1 year)

    A $199, 914-minute on-demand video course with 10 modules, a downloadable study guide, and 15.5 contact hours — re-recorded for the Feb 6, 2024 test plan.

  3. 03
    AACN Review CourseBest official content reviewNot stated publicly; 50% discount with exam application

    AACN's own modular review course with 14.0 CE hours, practice questions, video case scenarios, and PDF handouts mapped to the current test plan.

  4. 04
    Nurse BuildersBest structured e-course with CEs$189 one-time

    An $189 e-course with 50 lessons, 10 hours of video, 11 CE contact hours, and embedded practice questions based on the PCCN exam content outline.

  5. 05
    MometrixBest large subscription library$99.99/month subscription

    A $99.99/month subscription with 1,080+ practice questions, 100+ lessons, 100+ videos, and flashcards — but Mometrix's own free practice-test page still lists the old 125-question / 2.5-hour format.

  6. 06
    Pocket PrepBest mobile drill app$20.99/mo, $49.99/3 mo, or $124.99/yr

    A mobile-first app with 650 PCCN questions and flexible subscriptions, but its public exam page still describes the old 125-question / 2.5-hour exam.

Every PCCN prep option at a glance

CourseBest forPriceQuestionsMocksGuarantee
AACN TestRun PremiumNurses who want the most official, current-plan question practice available$75 member / $90 nonmember (180 days)550+——
Nicole KupchikNurses who want an engaging instructor-led review they can watch on their own schedule$199 one-time (1 year)———
AACN Review CourseNurses who want the exam maker's own structured content review and CE creditNot stated publicly; 50% discount with exam applicationPractice included——
Nurse BuildersNurses who want a structured e-course with ANCC-accredited CE credit$189 one-time———
MometrixNurses who want a large all-in-one subscription and can verify current-format claims before buying$99.99/month subscription1,080+—7-day refund
Pocket PrepNurses who want a cheap, portable quiz app for short daily drills$20.99/mo, $49.99/3 mo, or $124.99/yr650——

Prices and counts pulled from each provider’s public pages. Scroll the table sideways on small screens.

01
Best official practice bank

AACN TestRun PCCN Adult Certification Practice Exam — Premium Subscription

Online QBank / practice exams · Best for: Nurses who want the most official, current-plan question practice available

Questions
550+
Rationales
Yes
Access
180 days
Timed mode
Yes

The Premium subscription gives 180-day access to more than 550 practice questions written to the current PCCN test plan, with correct-answer rationales, randomized exams, content-area quizzes, and both timed and untimed modes. Because AACN Certification Corporation writes the exam, the alignment claim is the most credible in the market.

It is a practice bank, not a full review course: there are no video lessons or structured content review. The AACN store listing shows a member price of $75 and a nonmember price of $90 as of October 1, 2026. We did not test the bank hands-on; comparisons are based on the published feature list and price list.

What’s great

  • Written by the exam maker and explicitly aligned to the current test plan
  • 550+ questions with rationales and content-area breakdowns
  • Timed/untimed modes and randomized exams
  • Lower cost than most comprehensive review courses

What’s not

  • No structured lessons or video teaching
  • 180-day window may be tight if your test is delayed
  • Nonrefundable

Bottom line

AACN TestRun Premium is the best official question bank for PCCN as of October 2026: current-plan content, rationales, and a low price — but pair it with a review course if you need content teaching.

02
Best on-demand review course

Nicole Kupchik PCCN Certification Review Course

On-demand video course + study guide · Best for: Nurses who want an engaging instructor-led review they can watch on their own schedule

Modules
10
Length
914 minutes
CE hours
15.5
Access
1 year

Nicole Kupchik's on-demand PCCN course is built around ten modules covering the full AACN blueprint, with a total runtime of 914 minutes, a downloadable PDF study guide, and 15.5 contact hours. The course page states it was re-recorded to align with the updated test plan released by AACN on February 6, 2024.

The $199 price covers one year of access. A book bundle is available for an additional $70, and a separate 450-question practice book can be added. The course is video-heavy, so it suits learners who prefer listening and case-based teaching over reading a text bank. We did not test the platform hands-on.

What’s great

  • Explicitly aligned to the Feb 6, 2024 test plan
  • Engaging, experienced instructor with progressive-care/critical-care background
  • 15.5 contact hours and a printable CE certificate
  • One-year access with a downloadable study guide

What’s not

  • Question practice is lighter than dedicated QBanks unless you buy the add-on book
  • Video format is less convenient for quick mobile drills
  • Refund requires no course access within 30 days

Bottom line

Nicole Kupchik's $199 PCCN on-demand course is the best instructor-led review for nurses who want current-plan video teaching with CE credit.

03
Best official content review

AACN PCCN Certification Review Course Online

Online modular review course · Best for: Nurses who want the exam maker's own structured content review and CE credit

CE hours
14.0
Access
Expires Jan 31, 2027
Format
Modules + video
Questions
Practice included

This is AACN's own PCCN Certification Review Course Online for individual purchase. The product page says it aligns with the current PCCN Exam Test Plan and covers all clinical-judgment and professional-caring content areas, with practice questions, selected video case scenarios, test-taking tips, repeatable modules, and PDF handouts. Successful completion awards 14.0 CE contact hours.

The public product page did not display a price as of October 1, 2026, but it notes a 50% discount when purchased at the time of a PCCN certification exam application. That discount could make it the cheapest official option, but the lack of transparent pricing hurts its cost score. We did not test the course hands-on.

What’s great

  • Directly from AACN, with explicit current-test-plan alignment
  • 14.0 CE contact hours and structured modules
  • Includes practice questions, video, and handouts
  • Potential 50% discount with exam application

What’s not

  • Price not visible publicly without logging in or starting an application
  • Question-bank size is not stated
  • Course expires January 31, 2027 regardless of purchase date

Bottom line

AACN's own review course is a credible, current-plan content review, but the hidden price makes total-cost comparison uncertain as of October 2026.

04
Best structured e-course with CEs

Nurse Builders 2026 PCCN Review E-Course

Self-paced e-course + practice questions · Best for: Nurses who want a structured e-course with ANCC-accredited CE credit

Lessons
50
Video
10 hours
CE hours
11
Q&A bank add-on
$49.95 (100 Qs)

Nurse Builders' 2026 PCCN Review E-Course is organized into 50 lessons across nine sessions, with about 10 hours of video content and 11 CE contact hours. The course page states it is based on the PCCN Exam content outline and includes practice questions with each session.

At $189 it is priced between the official AACN course and Nicole Kupchik's on-demand offering. The optional 100-question digital Q&A bank is $49.95, and a 450-question printed practice book is also available. We did not test the platform hands-on.

What’s great

  • Clear session structure with PDF handouts and embedded quizzes
  • 11 ANCC-accredited CE contact hours
  • Explicitly based on the PCCN content outline
  • Optional low-cost Q&A bank add-on

What’s not

  • Less name recognition in PCCN prep than AACN or Nicole Kupchik
  • Main course does not include a large standalone question bank
  • Refund/return policy was not detailed on the product page

Bottom line

Nurse Builders' $189 e-course is a very good structured review for nurses who value CE credit and clear module sequencing, but budget extra if you want a large QBank.

05
Best large subscription library

Mometrix PCCN Online Prep Course

Subscription course + QBank + flashcards · Best for: Nurses who want a large all-in-one subscription and can verify current-format claims before buying

Questions
1,080+
Lessons
100+
Videos
100+
Guarantee
7-day refund

Mometrix's paid PCCN course advertises 1,080+ practice questions, more than 100 lessons, more than 100 videos, 940+ flashcards, and five full-length practice tests for $99.99 per month with a 7-day money-back guarantee. The course page says it follows official exam outlines and is regularly updated.

The version-alignment score is pulled down because Mometrix's own free PCCN practice-test page (https://www.mometrix.com/academy/pccn-practice-test/) was still describing the exam as 125 questions in 2.5 hours with 100 scored items as of October 1, 2026 — the pre-2024 format. That outdated public page creates real doubt about how current the course material is. We did not test the platform hands-on.

What’s great

  • Large question bank, lesson library, and flashcard set
  • Five full-length practice tests
  • 7-day refund guarantee
  • Mobile access and video explanations

What’s not

  • A direct vendor page still displays the old 125-question / 2.5-hour format
  • $99.99/month subscription can exceed the cost of one-time courses over a multi-month timeline
  • No pass guarantee beyond the 7-day refund

Bottom line

Mometrix has the largest self-paced PCCN library among the ranked options, but verify that the course content has actually been updated for the 150-question / 3-hour test plan before subscribing.

06
Best mobile drill app

Pocket Prep AACN PCCN

Mobile QBank app · Best for: Nurses who want a cheap, portable quiz app for short daily drills

Questions
650
Subjects
12
Free trial
30 questions
Access
Subscription

Pocket Prep lists 650 PCCN questions across 12 subjects, with a free 30-question trial and premium subscriptions at $20.99/month, $49.99 per three months, or $124.99/year as shown in search-result excerpts from the vendor site. The app is convenient for short quizzes on a phone.

The major drawback is version alignment: the direct Pocket Prep exam page (https://www.pocketprep.com/exams/aacn-pccn/) was still stating the exam has 125 questions, 100 scored, and a 2.5-hour time limit as of October 1, 2026. That is the pre-February-2024 format. Treat Pocket Prep as a supplemental drill tool, not your primary current-plan resource. We did not test the app hands-on.

What’s great

  • Low-cost entry and flexible subscription lengths
  • 650 questions with a free 30-question trial
  • Strong mobile app and weak-subject targeting
  • Useful for short daily drills between shifts

What’s not

  • Public exam page describes the outdated 125-question / 2.5-hour format
  • No structured review course or deep video teaching
  • Subscription auto-renews; easy to forget to cancel

Bottom line

Pocket Prep is a cheap, convenient mobile drill app, but its public PCCN description was not updated for the current 150-question / 3-hour test plan as of October 2026.

The rest of the field

Other providers you may want to research alongside these options.

  • Study.com AACN PCCN Test Prep. The direct product page (https://nursing.study.com/aacn/progressive-care-nursing-certification-pccn-test-prep.html) returned a 403 error on October 1, 2026, and no price, question count, or current-format evidence was visible. We could not score it reliably.
  • Mometrix PCCN Exam Secrets printed study guide. The printed book is listed at $54.99, but the online course already includes the same study-guide content plus videos, flashcards, and the larger question bank.
  • AACN Adult CCRN/PCCN Certification Review Webinar Series. This is a live/recorded webinar bundle aimed largely at groups ($1,605 for up to 30 participants). For individual nurses, the AACN self-paced review course or TestRun bank are more accessible and better priced.

How we evaluated these courses

We compare published exam alignment, practice resources, learning support, access terms, and cost. This is a review of provider information, not hands-on course testing or a measurement of learning outcomes.

Version alignment

How clearly the product supports the current PCCN test plan (Feb 6, 2024). A product that explicitly labels 150 total / 125 scored / 3 hours and the 80/20 domain split scores higher than one still describing the old 125-question / 2.5-hour format.

Sample quality

Question-bank size, realism to the current format, availability of full-length practice tests, and whether rationales explain why wrong answers fail.

Learning support

Structured lessons, video or text teaching, adaptive study plans, progress analytics, and CE credit.

Total cost

Total spend over a realistic 6–12 week study window, including subscription math and add-ons. Lower cost scores higher; unknown public pricing scores lower.

Accessibility/support

Access length, customer support channels, ease of use, refund/guarantee clarity, and mobile availability.

  1. 1

    Check provider descriptions and published access terms.

  2. 2

    Compare each option against the needs described above.

  3. 3

    Identify limitations and direct readers to provider sources for current offers.

PCCN (Adult) facts (verified October 1, 2026)

Current format150 total items: 125 scored + 25 unscored; 3 hours. Test plan effective February 6, 2024.
Content split80% Clinical Judgment (Cardiovascular 20%, Respiratory 14%, Multisystem 15%, etc.) and 20% Professional Caring and Ethical Practice.
Passing score82 correct out of 125 scored items (cut effective Jan 31, 2024).
First-time pass rate70.10% in 2025 (3,321 tested) and 68.20% in 2024 (2,991 tested).
Exam fees$260 for AACN members / $375 for nonmembers; retest $185 / $290.
Retake limitUp to 4 times in a 12-month period.

Source: AACN PCCN Direct Care Handbook, AACN Exam Stats & Scores page, and AACN PCCN FAQs, checked October 1, 2026.

How to choose PCCN prep

Should you start with AACN's own materials?

Yes, for most nurses. The TestRun Premium bank is the most credible current-plan question source, and the AACN review course is the exam maker's own content review. Use them as your baseline before paying for third-party options.

Which option fits a tight budget?

AACN TestRun Premium at $75/$90 for 180 days is the cheapest credible current-plan resource. If you want a full review course, Nicole Kupchik at $199 is a strong one-time purchase. Avoid relying solely on apps that still describe the old exam format.

What if you learn best by video?

Nicole Kupchik's on-demand course is the best video-led option, with 914 minutes across ten modules. Nurse Builders is a solid alternative with 10 hours of video and 11 CE hours.

How should you handle outdated-format claims?

If a vendor page still says "125 questions / 2.5 hours / 100 scored," that material has not caught up to the Feb 6, 2024 test plan. You can still use it for content review, but do not trust its pacing or score percentages for your real exam.

FAQ about PCCN prep courses

What is the best PCCN review course in 2026?

For question practice, AACN TestRun Premium is the strongest choice because it is written by the exam maker and aligned to the current test plan. For a full video review course, Nicole Kupchik's $199 on-demand PCCN course is the best instructor-led option as of October 2026.

How much does PCCN prep cost?

PCCN prep ranges from about $75–$90 (AACN TestRun Premium) to roughly $199 for a one-time review course. Subscription options such as Mometrix ($99.99/month) and Pocket Prep (~$20.99/month) can be cheaper for short use but may cost more over a multi-month timeline.

Where can I start with PrepSolution PCCN resources?

Start with PrepSolution’s free PCCN practice questions at /free-practice/pccn, then use the explanations to identify topics for review. Compare the resources on this page by exam alignment, learning format, access terms, and cost.

Are these PCCN prep courses updated for the current test plan?

AACN's own products and Nicole Kupchik's course explicitly state alignment with the Feb 6, 2024 test plan. Nurse Builders says it is based on the current content outline. Mometrix and Pocket Prep still had public pages describing the old 125-question / 2.5-hour format as of October 1, 2026, so verify current-format claims before buying.

How many practice questions should I do before the PCCN exam?

Most nurses benefit from several hundred current-plan questions with rationales. AACN TestRun Premium (550+) and Nicole Kupchik's add-on practice book (450) are realistic targets. Quality of review matters more than raw question count.

PrepSolution

© 2026 PrepSolution Inc. PrepSolution publishes exam-prep comparisons. All pricing and feature data from public sources as of October 1, 2026. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.