NCE study materials — ranked and compared

The best NCE prep courses and study materials for your test date

Six NCE prep options — including PrepSolution’s own system, the official NBCC guide, and major third-party courses — compared on current- and future-format alignment, practice quality, learning support, total cost, and accessibility. Prices and features checked directly from vendor pages on October 1, 2026.

  • Updated October 1, 2026
  • 6 options compared
  • No affiliate links

Published by PrepSolution, an exam-preparation provider. This comparison uses published provider information. We have not tested these courses hands-on or measured their learning outcomes. Check each provider’s current inclusions and terms before buying.

As of October 1, 2026, the right NCE prep depends on when you sit. The current exam is 200 questions (160 scored) until June 30, 2027; the new 170-question, three-option exam begins July 1, 2027. No vendor we inspected had released dedicated July 2027 prep, so every option below is current-format only unless noted. We checked each vendor’s own public pages on October 1, 2026; this comparison is not based on hands-on testing.

  1. 01
    PrepSolutionBest full self-study system$89.99–$229.99 (3–12 months)

    1,176 standards-verified questions, three timed 200-question mocks, 488 flashcards, and a 10-week calendar for $89.99 (3 mo) to $229.99 (12 mo). The pass guarantee is an access extension, not a cash refund.

  2. 02
    Pocket PrepBest mobile QBank$20.99/mo–$124.99/yr

    2,000 NCE practice questions across six subjects, multiple quiz modes, a mock-exam mode, and a free-extension pass guarantee — but no structured course or study calendar.

  3. 03
    NBCC OfficialBest official baseline$34.95

    The exam maker’s own study guide: 180 practice questions with explanations covering all six current domains. No full mock exam and no announced July 2027 edition as of October 2026.

  4. 04
    MometrixBest budget book$49.99 eBook / $54.99 print

    A book with review videos and bonus digital practice tests; customer reviews on the Mometrix page cite three practice tests with explanations. Question count and July 2027 alignment were not stated.

  5. 05
    AATBSBest known brand with long access$399 (9 months)

    AATBS’s self-study package advertises over 500 brand-new questions with nine months of access. Full-length practice test count and July 2027 coverage were not visible on the product page.

  6. 06
    NCE Exam (Linton)Best subscription with guaranteeStarting at $44.95

    Subscription access to thousands of NCE questions, unlimited practice exams, case studies, and audio materials, with a free-extension guarantee — but pricing tiers and question count were not fully visible on the public subscription page.

Every NCE prep option at a glance

CourseBest forPriceQuestionsMocksGuarantee
PrepSolutionOur productStudents who want a complete self-study system with timed mocks and adaptive practice$89.99–$229.99 (3–12 months)1,1763 timed 200-question mocksAccess extension
Pocket PrepCandidates who want a large mobile-first question bank for short sessions$20.99/mo–$124.99/yr2,0001 mock mode3-month extension
NBCC OfficialEvery candidate before spending money$34.95180NoneNone
MometrixStudents who learn well from a printed guide and want a low one-time cost$49.99 eBook / $54.99 printNot stated3 (page reviews)Not stated
AATBSStudents who want a long-access package from an established counseling-prep brand$399 (9 months)500+Not statedNot stated
NCE Exam (Linton)Students who want unlimited practice exams and a low entry priceStarting at $44.95ThousandsUnlimitedAccess extension

Prices and counts pulled from each provider’s public pages. Scroll the table sideways on small screens.

01
Best full self-study systemOur product

PrepSolution NCE Complete System

Adaptive QBank + flashcards + study calendar · Best for: Students who want a complete self-study system with timed mocks and adaptive practice

Questions
1,176
Full tests
3 timed 200-question mocks
Access
3 / 6 / 12 months
Guarantee
Access extension

PrepSolution builds and sells the NCE Complete System reviewed here. This entry is scored against the same evidence standard as the competitors below.

PrepSolution’s NCE Complete System bundles a 1,176-question adaptive QBank, three full 200-question timed mocks, 488 flashcards, per-domain analytics, and a 10-week Pass Path calendar. Pricing is $89.99 for three months, $149.99 for six months, or $229.99 for twelve months, all verified from the public product page at prepsolution.com/exam/nce.

The bank is built for the current 200-question NCE and explicitly notes the July 1, 2027 specification change in its FAQ, but it does not yet offer a dedicated three-option, 170-question practice mode. The pass guarantee is an access extension for the same length you purchased, not a cash refund. We did not test the platform hands-on for this comparison.

What’s great

  • Large, original question bank with detailed rationales
  • Three full 200-question timed mock exams
  • Adaptive practice, analytics, and a 10-week calendar
  • Competitive price for the feature set
  • Clear disclosure of the July 1, 2027 exam change

What’s not

  • No live instruction or video lessons
  • Not an official NBCC product
  • Not yet rebuilt for the July 2027 three-option format
  • Pass guarantee is access extension only, not a refund

Bottom line

PrepSolution NCE Complete System at $89.99–$229.99 as of October 2026 is the most complete self-study system for the current NCE, provided you sit before July 1, 2027 or are ready to adapt to the new format later.

02
Best mobile QBank

Pocket Prep NCE

Mobile/web QBank + mock exam · Best for: Candidates who want a large mobile-first question bank for short sessions

Questions
2,000
Full tests
1 mock mode
Access
1 / 3 / 12 months
Guarantee
3-month extension

Pocket Prep’s NBCC NCE page lists 2,000 questions across the six current NCE domains, with quiz modes including Question of the Day, Quick 10, timed quizzes, and a mock exam. Premium pricing is $20.99 billed monthly, $49.99 every three months, or $124.99 annually, all shown on the vendor page checked October 1, 2026.

The platform is strong for drill-and-review on a phone, but it does not provide a structured study plan, video lessons, or explicit July 2027 content. The Pocket Prep Pass Guarantee adds three free months of Premium if you do not pass. We did not test the app hands-on.

What’s great

  • Large question bank with detailed explanations
  • Strong mobile app and multiple quiz modes
  • Lower entry price than full courses
  • Pass guarantee with free extension

What’s not

  • Subscription costs add up over a multi-month study window
  • No structured study calendar or lessons
  • No visible July 2027 alignment as of October 2026

Bottom line

Pocket Prep NCE at $20.99–$124.99 as of October 2026 is the best mobile drill bank for candidates who want thousands of questions and flexible quiz modes.

03
Best official baseline

NBCC Official NCE Study Guide

Print study guide · Best for: Every candidate before spending money

Questions
180
Full tests
None
Access
Book
Guarantee
None

NBCC’s official Examination Preparation page lists the NCE Study Guide at $34.95 from the NBCC online store, with 180 multiple-choice practice questions, full answer explanations, and coverage of all six professional counseling domains. Because NBCC writes the exam, current-format alignment is authoritative.

The trade-off is support and volume: there is no full-length timed mock, no adaptive analytics, and no study calendar. As of October 1, 2026, NBCC had not announced a July 2027 edition of the guide. We did not test the guide hands-on.

What’s great

  • Lowest-cost official resource
  • Covers all six current NCE domains
  • Answer explanations included
  • Written by the exam maker

What’s not

  • Only 180 questions
  • No full-length practice test
  • No adaptive analytics or study plan
  • No future-format guidance

Bottom line

The NBCC Official NCE Study Guide at $34.95 as of October 2026 is the honest starting point for every current-format candidate, best paired with a larger QBank for deep prep.

04
Best budget book

Mometrix NCE Study Guide

Study guide book + digital tests · Best for: Students who learn well from a printed guide and want a low one-time cost

Questions
Not stated
Full tests
3 (page reviews)
Access
Book + digital
Guarantee
Not stated

Mometrix’s NCE Study Guide page lists a printed book for $54.99 and an eBook for $49.99, with review videos and bonus digital practice tests. Customer reviews on the same page mention three full practice tests with explanations, though Mometrix does not publish a total question count.

This is a budget-friendly, one-time purchase, but it lacks the adaptive engine, analytics, and structured calendar of a full course. There was no mention of a July 2027 update on the page as of October 1, 2026. We did not test the guide hands-on.

What’s great

  • Low one-time cost
  • Includes review videos and digital tests
  • Three practice tests cited in page reviews
  • No subscription required

What’s not

  • No adaptive practice or analytics
  • Question count not stated by vendor
  • No structured study plan
  • No visible July 2027 alignment

Bottom line

Mometrix NCE Study Guide at $49.99–$54.99 as of October 2026 is a solid budget book for current-format review, but verify the latest edition before buying.

05
Best known brand with long access

AATBS NCE Self-Study Package

Self-study online course · Best for: Students who want a long-access package from an established counseling-prep brand

Questions
500+
Full tests
Not stated
Access
9 months
Guarantee
Not stated

AATBS lists its NCE Self-Study Package at $399 with nine months of access and over 500 brand-new questions. The AATBS counseling NCE hub separately advertises over 1,000 unique practice questions, so the full question library may be larger than the self-study product page figure.

The product page did not state the number of full-length practice tests, guarantee terms, or any July 2027 update as of October 1, 2026. AATBS pages returned a bot challenge when fetched directly; the figures here are from AATBS’s own indexed product URLs. We did not test the course hands-on.

What’s great

  • Nine months of access
  • Established counseling-exam prep brand
  • Self-paced online format
  • Question bank of at least 500+ items

What’s not

  • Most expensive self-study option in this ranking
  • Full-length test count not stated
  • No visible pass guarantee
  • No visible July 2027 alignment

Bottom line

AATBS NCE Self-Study Package at $399 as of October 2026 is a credible long-access option, but the value is hard to judge against cheaper rivals without a published full-test count.

06
Best subscription with guarantee

NationalCounselingExam.com

Subscription-based online prep · Best for: Students who want unlimited practice exams and a low entry price

Questions
Thousands
Full tests
Unlimited
Access
Subscription
Guarantee
Access extension

NationalCounselingExam.com, run by Dr. Linton Hutchinson, offers subscription access to thousands of test questions, unlimited practice exams, case studies, slideshows, matching activities, and audio study materials. The homepage advertises subscriptions starting at $44.95 and a Zero Risk Guarantee that extends access for the original subscription length if you do not pass.

The public subscription page did not display the full pricing ladder or exact question count as of October 1, 2026, and there was no mention of July 2027 content. We did not test the platform hands-on.

What’s great

  • Low starting price
  • Unlimited practice exams
  • Variety of study formats including audio and case studies
  • Free-extension guarantee

What’s not

  • Pricing tiers not fully transparent on the public page
  • Question count not stated
  • No visible structured study calendar
  • No visible July 2027 alignment

Bottom line

NationalCounselingExam.com at a starting price of $44.95 as of October 2026 is a flexible, low-entry subscription for unlimited practice, but verify current plan details before subscribing.

The rest of the field

Other providers you may want to research alongside these options.

  • Study.com NCE Prep. Study.com’s NCE pages describe video lessons, practice tests, and flashcards, but the direct NCE product page did not list a fixed price as of October 1, 2026 (membership pricing is gated), so it could not be scored on total cost.
  • Mometrix University NCE Online Course. The Mometrix University NCE page advertises 1,750+ questions, 90+ lessons, and 30+ videos. A product price of $99.99 was visible in the page’s structured data, but the billing period (one-time vs. monthly) was not clearly stated on the public page, making cost comparison unreliable.
  • Dr. Arthur’s Study Guide for the NCE. Dr. Arthur’s materials are listed on the NBCC preparation page with 1,100+ questions and optional online practice exams, but the direct vendor site was not fetchable and pricing came only from third-party comparison tables, not a direct vendor page.

How we evaluated these courses

We compare published exam alignment, practice resources, learning support, access terms, and cost. This is a review of provider information, not hands-on course testing or a measurement of learning outcomes.

Version alignment

How clearly the product supports the current 200-question NCE and whether it acknowledges or prepares for the July 1, 2027 170-question, three-option exam. A product that explicitly labels current NBCC alignment and notes the 2027 change scores higher than one with only vague or absent format claims.

Sample quality

Question-bank size, realism to the current format, availability of full-length practice tests, and whether rationales explain why wrong answers fail.

Learning support

Structured lessons, adaptive study plans, video or text teaching, flashcards, progress analytics, and error-logging features.

Total cost

Total spend over a realistic 2–4 month study window, including subscription math and add-ons. Lower cost scores higher.

Accessibility/support

Access length, customer support channels, ease of use, mobile access, and guarantee clarity.

  1. 1

    Check provider descriptions and published access terms.

  2. 2

    Compare each option against the needs described above.

  3. 3

    Identify limitations and direct readers to provider sources for current offers.

NCE facts (verified October 1, 2026)

Current format200 questions, 160 scored + 40 unscored field-test items, 225 minutes. Six domains: Counseling Skills & Interventions (30%), Areas of Clinical Focus (29%), Professional Practice & Ethics (12%), Intake, Assessment & Diagnosis (12%), Treatment Planning (9%), Core Counseling Attributes (8%).
Future formatEffective July 1, 2027: 170 questions, 140 scored + 30 unscored, three response options per item, 100–500 scale with a fixed passing score of 360.
Passing scoreCurrent: form-specific raw standard set by NBCC; your form’s passing score appears on your score report. Future (from July 1, 2027): scaled 360.
Registration fee$275 for the state-licensure route as of October 2026; the NCC bundled route is $375 with exam or $250 without.
Retake ruleMinimum 30-day wait between attempts; state boards set total attempts allowed.

Source: NBCC NCE Handbook, NBCC 2027 NCE Exam Specifications, NBCC 2027 NCE Content Outline, and NBCC examination preparation page, checked October 1, 2026.

How to choose NCE prep

Should you buy NCE prep before July 1, 2027?

If your test date is on or after July 1, 2027, verify that your chosen material covers the new 170-question, three-option format. As of October 2026, none of the inspected vendors had released a dedicated July 2027 product, so budget for a possible upgrade or second resource.

Which option fits a tight budget?

Start with the NBCC Official NCE Study Guide ($34.95) for authoritative current-format practice, then add Pocket Prep ($20.99/mo) or PrepSolution ($89.99/3 mo) if you need more questions and mocks.

Which option has the most practice questions?

Pocket Prep lists 2,000 questions and PrepSolution lists 1,176. Both offer full mock-exam modes; PrepSolution’s mocks are fixed 200-question exams, while Pocket Prep uses a mock-exam mode.

What do these guarantees actually cover?

PrepSolution, Pocket Prep, and NationalCounselingExam.com offer access extensions if you do not pass, not cash refunds. Read the terms: most require a score report and may require completion of practice material.

Do you need a live class?

None of the ranked options include live instruction. AATBS sells a live-instruction package, but pricing was not fully visible on the public page as of October 2026. Choose live instruction only if you learn better with scheduled classes and instructor access.

FAQ about NCE prep courses

What is the best NCE prep course in 2026?

For most current-format candidates, PrepSolution NCE Complete System offers the fullest self-study system, while the NBCC Official Study Guide is the best low-cost baseline. If you want a mobile drill bank, Pocket Prep is the strongest choice as of October 2026.

How much does NCE prep cost?

NCE prep ranges from $34.95 (NBCC official guide) to about $399 (AATBS self-study). Mid-range options include PrepSolution at $89.99–$229.99, Pocket Prep at $20.99–$124.99, Mometrix at $49.99–$54.99, and NationalCounselingExam.com starting at $44.95.

Does PrepSolution offer NCE prep?

Yes. PrepSolution sells the NCE Complete System reviewed on this page. This comparison discloses that relationship in the PrepSolution entry and in the footer.

Are these NCE prep materials updated for the July 2027 exam change?

As of October 1, 2026, none of the inspected vendors had released dedicated July 2027 prep. PrepSolution’s FAQ notes the change; the others are current-format only. If you are testing on or after July 1, 2027, confirm future-format coverage with the vendor before buying.

What is the PrepSolution pass guarantee?

If you complete the study plan, take all three mock exams, and do not pass, PrepSolution extends your plan free for the same length you bought. A 3-month plan gets 3 more months, a 6-month plan gets 6, and a 12-month plan gets 12. It is additional access, not a cash refund.

How is the NCE scored?

Until June 30, 2027, the NCE is 200 questions with 160 scored; NBCC sets a form-specific raw passing standard. From July 1, 2027, it becomes 170 questions with 140 scored on a 100–500 scale, with a fixed passing score of 360.

Ready to see PrepSolution for yourself?

PrepSolution NCE Complete System at $89.99–$229.99 as of October 2026 is the most complete self-study system for the current NCE, provided you sit before July 1, 2027 or are ready to adapt to the new format later.

PrepSolution

© 2026 PrepSolution Inc. PrepSolution builds and sells the NCE prep platform reviewed on this page. All competitor pricing and feature data from public sources as of October 1, 2026. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.